Entering Nicaragua

Today we entered Nicaragua!

Ometepe island and both its volcanoes

And as most border crossings around here, it takes some time and energy. The Schengen space in Europe is really a good thing!

So we started with a first bus from Liberia to Peñas Blancas, the border town between Costa Rica and Nicaragua. We hadn’t even stepped out of the bus that we were told to follow women who “worked for the exit tax office”.

We knew we had to pay a 7$ exit fee per person to Costa Rica, and that at the immigration office there is a machine where you can pay the tax with credit card. Of course, at the exit tax office, it was 8$ (1$ for service…). And of course if you ask them, the machine at the immigration office “doesn’t work today” (which of course was a lie…). But for us it didn’t change much, as if we pay by card we have a 1€ surcharge anyway. And we had read online that this office existed in case you want to pay cash or the machine doesn’t work (which really happens sometimes apparently), so we paid there. But it still feels a little shady 😉 .

Once the exit tax payed, it was hello-stamp-goodby at the immigration office. Then you walk 500m to the Nicaraguan immigration office, while warding off the horde of change/transport/etc… agents that are always present in numbers at these type of borders. At the immigration office, a first women asks for 1$ per person “city entry fee”. Ok, we also had read this existed (even though it actually might already be included in the country entry fee, but it’s not clear). Then the next immigration agent just asks where we’re headed and our profession (and as most places here, not currently having a job is not a valid answer, probably for the software…). Then it’s 12$ per person country entry fee and a luggage scanner, same as the airport’s.

But in total the administrative part wasn’t a hassle (as long as you pay, if possible with the exact amount of change). But as soon as you leave the official building on the Nicaraguan side, you’re immediately harassed by different “transport agents” wanting to sell you bus or shuttle service for the usual very high price (12$ for Rivas or 25$ for Ometepe, whereas it cost us less than 6$ for two to get to Ometepe by public transport). They really do try, and tell the usual lies (the bus won’t come, it’s Sunday, it’s very complicated,…).

Once the right bus spotted (which is always quite difficult, probably on purpose so that the less patient tourists pay the overpriced shuttles), it was quite simple. It took 40 minutes to get to Rivas, where we got some Cordobas (the local currency) at the ATM. Then we tried to get the bus to the ferry terminal (about 4km away), but it wasn’t very clear. We asked some people and found the bus stop, where a women was waiting and told as the bus would come in 30 minutes, but she left after 15 min telling us it was Sunday and the bus wasn’t running, so we should take a taxi.

The street vendors, always carrying and amazing amount of stuff!

Meanwhile a dozen taxis stopped at the bus stop and we tried to negociate the price, but they all had the same fixed price, and wouldn’t go down. So we did some hitch-hiking instead, and were picked up by a romanian couple that had been living in Canada for 25 years. They were super nice, and seemed to have traveled quite a lot. They dropped us of at the ferry terminal, where we ate with a great view of Ometepe island and the lake.

Yeah, we know you’ve missed the watercolor paintings 😉

The ferry took about an hour, and was very easy (well, it’s a lake not a sea, so it’s pretty calm waters), and we met our Romanian friends again, so we talked a bit more about life and traveling. They very nicely invited us to their home in case we’re in Toronto 🙂 .

Once settled down at the hostel (and shopping for tomorrow’s breakfast done), we explored the town a bit (not much to see), and worked on the blog (so now we’re up to date!). Then we had a beer on the lakefront with a few dutch travelers at sundown.

Another cool picture to make you jealous 😉

So, that’s all for today, now it’s shower time (well deserved, it’s quite hot here, but it should go down to like 25°C tonight…). See you soon for more adventures (and swims in warm waters 😉 ).

P.S : there were a lot of firefly flying around near the docks at sundown, it was blinking everywhere like a Christmas tree (but way cooler!).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Entrée au Nicaragua

Ça y est, on est au Nicaragua !

L’île d’Ometepe avec ses deux volcans

Et comme tout passage de frontière, ça demande un peu de temps et d’énergie. A chaque fois on se dit que l’espace Schengen, c’est vraiment bien !

On a donc commencé par prendre le bus à Liberia vers Peñas Blancas, la ville frontière entre Costa Rica et Nicaragua. A peine sorti du bus on est emmené un peu précipitamment par des « femmes qui travaillent au bureau pour payer la taxe de sortie ».

On savait qu’on devait payer une taxe de sortie de 7$ par personne pour sortir du pays, et que au niveau de l’office d’immigration, il y avait une machine pour payer par carte. Évidemment, à ce bureau c’est 8$ vu qu’ils rajoutent 1$ de « service ». Et évidemment, si tu leur demande si il n’y a pas la machine à l’immigration, ils te disent qu’elle est en panne (ce qui n’est pas vrai). Bon, pour nous ça change pas grand chose car payer en carte nous coûte de toute façon 1€ de frais de banque. Et puis on avait lu en ligne que ce bureau existait pour si tu veut payer en cash ou si la machine est en panne, donc on a payé sur place, mais ça reste un peu shady ! 😉

Une fois la taxe de sortie payée, c’était bonjour-tampon-au revoir au niveau de l’immigration.  Ensuite il faut marcher 500m jusqu’au poste coté Nicaragua, en repoussant les différents agents de change/transports/etc… qui rodent à toutes les frontières de ce style. Coté Nicaragua, dans le bureau de l’immigration une première femme en uniforme demande 1$ par personne pour la « taxe d’entrée » de la première ville. Bon, ça aussi on avait lu que ça existait. Ensuite l’agent d’immigration suivant demande juste où on va et quel est notre profession (et comme dans pas mal d’endroit, il vaut mieux dire ingénieur ou architecte que chômeur, apparemment chômeur n’est pas une option pour le logiciel 😉 ). Puis c’est 12$ par personne pour entrer dans le pays, et un scanner à rayon comme dans les aéroports pour les sacs.

Au total, le passage de la frontière au niveau administratif à été assez simple et rapide (à partir du moment où tu payes et si possible avec la monnaie exacte). Par contre une fois sorti de l’administration coté Nicaragua, on se fait très vite accoster par différents transports, qui nous sortent les prix habituels (12$ pour Rivas ou 25$ pour Ometepe, alors qu’en transport en commun on en a eu pour moins de 6$ à deux jusqu’à Ometepe), et les mensonges habituels (le bus ne passe pas, on est dimanche, c’est très compliqué,…)

Une fois le bon bus repéré (ce qui est toujours un peu une aventure, mais probablement fait exprès pour pousser les touristes moins aventuriers à payer les transports chers), c’était assez simple. On a mis 40min pour aller à Rivas, où on a retiré un peu de Cordobas (la monnaie locale). On a ensuite essayé d’attendre le bus, mais évidemment rien n’était clair. une fille qui attendait à l’arrêt de bus avec nous à dit qu’il passait dans 30min, puis 15min plus tard est partie en disant qu’il ne passait pas le dimanche et qu’il fallait prendre un taxi.

Les vendeurs de rues, toujours aussi impressionnament chargés !

Pendant ce temps là, pas mal de taxi se sont arrêtés à l’arrêt de bus et on a essayé de négocier (après tout, il n’y a que 4km jusqu’à l’embarcadère), mais ils avait tous le même prix et refusait de baisser. On a donc fait du stop et on a assez vite étés pris par un couple de roumains installés au canada depuis 25 ans. Ils étaient très sympa, et nous on déposé à l’embarcadère, où on a mangé avec une superbe vue sur Ometepe et le lac.

Avouez, les aquarelles ça vous manquait ! 😉

La traversée d’une heure était assez simple, dans un petit ferry sur des eaux calmes où on a retrouvé nos amis roumains. Ils étaient super sympa et nous on invité à passer chez eux à Toronto à l’occasion 🙂 .

Une fois installés à l’auberge (et les courses faites pour le petit dèj), on s’est un peu baladés en ville mais surtout on a rattrapé notre retard sur le blog (cet article est donc vraiment posté à la bonne date !), puis on a été boire une bière au bord du lac avec un groupe de hollandais au coucher du soleil.

La photo trop classe pour vous rendre jaloux 😉

Voilà, c’est tout pour aujourd’hui, là c’est l’heure de la douche (bien méritée, il fait chaud ici, même si la température devrait descendre à 25°C cette nuit…). A demain pour plus d’aventures (ou de baignades 😉 ).

PS : y’avait plein de lucioles sur l’embarcadère au coucher du soleil, ça clignotait comme un sapin de Noël, mais en bien plus cool !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.