New Orleans – Day 9 : last departure

SECOND SPECIAL EDITION FROM ATLANTA – 7:36 AM local time

To be clear, let’s make a list :

  • We left Atlanta. We had navigation issues, so once we reached the canadian border (2 hour flights), we turned back (2 hours again).
  • We landed in Atlanta and waited in the plane while the instruments were checked and repaired (about an hour).
  • We left Atlanta again. After an hour, the instruments turned out not be repaired. We turned back again, which took an hour and a half (we needed to dump some fuel).
  • We landed in Atlanta again with the promise that we would be well taken care of, because we deserved it.
  • We waited for 2 hours with promises of hotels, food, next flights… We heard potential departure times of 7AM, 5PM, 2PM, and now it seems we will leave at 4:30PM. We hope we aren’t getting what we deserve. We also hope they will change the plane this time…

SPECIAL EDITION FROM ATLANTA – 1:30 AM local time

After taking off to Paris and around 2 hours of flight, we’ve been told that we are turning around to change planes, because ours seems to have lost navigation. If we had stayed in the US it would have been fine but apparently, to cross north Atlantic, it’s not. We will arrive much later than anticipated in France, but we don’t know when!

NORMAL EDITION – 10 PM local time

This morning, we packed our bags! Our friend Jeannine gave us one of her old suitcases to transport our surplus (a hammock and a ton of food!) and she was supposed to pick us up for a last tour of Louisiana.

We emptied the fridge, packed our stuff, and in the middle of the morning, the landlady asked us if it was ok if two painters came to repaint the room while we finished. It was strange but they were nice, and meeting them, craftsmen of medium education level and ex-military, made us realize how different our countries are.

When Jeannine arrived, we put our stuff in her car and went for a ride. We saw a few nice neighborhoods and the other side of City Park. Then, we went to see lake Pontchartrain, which is the one that overflowed and flooded during Katrina, because it’s really shallow, and even more, the surface can get pretty windy. We first went on the levies and then on the causeway going right in the middle of it (a few kilometers of plain straight road, from where you can barely see the banks ).

Finally, we went to the airport in New Orleans and everything went perfectly. We connected flights in Atlanta and to follow us, we are on flight 84 with Delta, from ATL to CDG, departure on the 13th of December at 22:59.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Nouvelle Orléans – Jour 9 : dernier départ

DEUXIEME EDITION SPECIALE ATLANTA – 07:36 heure locale

Pour faire clair, faisons une liste :

  • On est partis d’Atlanta. On a eu des problèmes de navigation, donc une fois arrivés vers la cote canadienne (2h de vol), on a fait demi-tour (encore 2h de vol).
  • On a atterri à Atlanta et on a poireauté dans l’avion pendant que les instruments étaient examinés et réparés (une bonne heure).
  • On est repartis d’Atlanta (1h de vol). Les instruments, finalement, n’étaient pas réparés. On a refait demi-tour (1h30 de vol, incluant le largage de carburant pour pouvoir atterrir).
  • On a atterri encore une fois à Atlanta avec la promesse qu’on prendrait bien soin de nous pour qu’on ait ce qu’on mérite.
  • On a attendu 2 heures avec des promesses d’hôtel, de bouffe, de vols prochains. On a entendu des horaires potentiels pour 7h, 17h, 14h, et maintenant il semblerait que ce soit pour 16h30. On espère pas qu’on a que ce qu’on mérite. On espère qu’on aura un autre avion, cette fois…

EDITION SPECIALE ATLANTA – 01:30 heure locale

Après notre décollage pour Paris et 2 heures de vol, on nous a annoncé qu’on faisait demi-tour pour changer d’avion (ou réparer, on est pas surs), le notre a, a priori, perdu la navigation, et si on restait aux US ce serait gérable mais pour passer au-dessus de l’Atlantique Nord ça va pas le faire. On arrivera donc en France bien plus tard que prévu, mais on ne sait pas trop quand !

EDITION NORMALE – 22:00 heure locale

Ce matin, on a fait nos valises ! Notre amie Jeannine nous a donné une de ses vieilles valises pour transporter notre excédent (un hamac, et pas mal de bouffe !), et elle devait passer nous chercher pour un dernier tour en Louisiane.

On a donc vidé le frigo, empaqueté nos affaires, et en milieu de matinée, la proprio nous a demandé si ça ne nous gênait pas que deux peintres viennent repeindre l’appart pendant qu’on finissait. C’était étrange, mais ils étaient plutôt sympas, et de rencontrer des artisans, citoyens d’un niveau d’éducation moyen, anciens militaires, nous a fait réaliser à quel point nos pays sont différents.

Quand Jeannine est arrivée, on a fait nos adieux, mis nos affaires dans sa voiture, et on est allés se balader. On a vu quelques jolis quartiers et l’autre côté du City Park. Ensuite, on est passés voir le lac Pontchartrain. C’est lui qui a débordé et inondé pendant Katrina, parce qu’il n’est pas très profond, et en plus il peut avoir de gros vents à sa surface. On a été d’abord sur les digues, puis sur le pont qui le traverse (quelques kilomètres de chaussée toute droite au milieu, les berges à peine visibles).

Enfin, on s’est rendus à l’aéroport de la Nouvelle Orléans où tout s’est bien passé. On a changé à Atlanta, et pour nous suivre, c’est le vol Delta n°84 de ATL vers CDG, départ le 13 décembre à 22:59.

CatégoriesUSA

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.