New Orleans – Day 5 : who cares about weather ? we’re out exploring !

Today we woke up early and full of motivation for our first day of excursion into the Louisiana bayous!

When we were in Ecuador, we met an American women at the breakfast from our hostel. Her name is Jeannine, she’s about sixty years old and lives near New Orleans! She told us we should visit her there.. and we did! So she’s the one driving us around in her Chevrolet, which allows us to see things we couldn’t have seen using only public transportation…

It was cold as hell yesterday and last night, and parts of Louisiana even woke up under 4 inches of snow on the car (in the countryside, because in the city it melted immediatly)(yes, inches, America’s starting to rub on us…). So the bridges where closed, and so were some highways, and it didn’t help us to plan our itinerary. Jeannine came to meet us an hour late because the Causeway on lake Pontchartrain she uses to come to the city had been closed (it’s a 40 something mile long bridge on this huge lake). So shortly after our start, we were stopped by a nice State-trooper with a big badge because the road ahead was still iced on the shadowed parts at 10am. He was very happy to speak French with us, or rather Cajun French, which is the local French based language, that sounds like Quebec French spoken with a southern accent. He was super nice and gave us an address to go eat while the iced melted.

A little further, we visited a butcher shop who smokes his own meat. It’s a very old family run business, so they only have to comply to the rules from the time it was created. Which means they can smoke it the old way with the wood they like. It smelled incredible in there! We tasted beef-jerky, which doesn’t really exist in France, and it was delicious. We didn’t take any pictures, and we won’t tell you what wood they’re using, as it’s a secret according to them (they didn’t want to tell us, but Jeannine works a lot with trees so she just took a look at one of the logs for like 5 seconds and guessed it, the guy was stunned 😉 ).

wp_20171209_13_52_58_pro_r

After the smokehouse, we drove along a bayou, which is kind of a river between one swamp and another swamp. Out here every piece of land was once the riverbed of the Mississippi, the ground is soaked with water and the swamp often acts as a buffer between the salted see water and the clear water on land. In there you’ll find alligators (they’re hibernating right now with the cold), frogs, turtles, fishes, shellfishes… in big quantities, sometimes even as invasive species. So everything that lives out in the bayou is very welcome in the local cuisine!

wp_20171209_11_14_05_pro_r

As the climate is quite warm, often very hot in summer, there are a lot of citruses everywhere! And it was really cold just before, which means the fruit are delicious right now. So we stopped at a house where Jeannine asked a very kind old man in his bathrobes if we could pick some in his garden, and he said yes. So we got some very delicious oranges and tangerines!

wp_20171209_10_07_48_pro_r

Louisiana is very flat, so there are lakes everywhere, and also very clear views, which is awesome! On the left in the photo, it’s a tree covered in Spanish moss, which is a plant that gives the bayou landscape this enigmatic and gloomy look in the local folklore (well this and the voodoo myths brought from Haiti by some of the initial immigrants). It can be used instead of straw in the cob for old sugar cane plantation houses.

When the bridges where reopened we managed to get to Avery Island, the home of Tabasco! It’s not really an island, but rather a dome of salt surrounded by bayous. The dome itself is kind of a geological mystery, there are a dozen of them in the area, and they can be as deep as Mount Everest ! As it’s elevated ground, it’s a great place to settle in (but it isn’t that high above sea level either…).

wp_20171209_028_r

The McHilleny family who produces the Tabasco created a museum to show how it’s made, but one of the ancestors also created English-style gardens to shelter a lot of plants and animals. He managed to rescue the white egrets that were almost extinct due to the use of their feathers in the production of hats. But he also mistakenly released some south American rodents who are now a plague. The garden were open to the public in the hope of developing automobile tourism, so you visit them mostly by car, and they are quite something!

panobuddha
There’s even a nice Bouddha, stolen in China (but nobody knows when) and then found in New York and gifted to the McHilleny’s!

During the factory tour, we understand that the success of the sauce enabled them to enter certain wealthy circles, but they also were quite handy and had natural talent for marketing. Some of them were military, explorers, politicians (not many women in power positions though) and their business has been growing for many years now, even entering pop-culture.

To summarize the process, a few peppers are grown bit on Avery Island, but a lot are grown in Mexico, South America and Africa. When harvested, they are mashed with salt, put into barrels and sent to Avery Island, where they stay a few years in the cellar. Then, vinegar is added and the mixture is stirred for a few days before bottling.

Of course, the exhibitions showed us how amaaaazing Tabasco is, and the gift shop had a lot of samples to taste, including green Jalapeño tabasco ice cream and raspberry chipotle tabasco ice cream (this one has an indescribable colour but tastes great anyway).

wp_20171209_042_r

About food, because here that’s really something important, between lunch and dinner, we tasted fried breaded frog legs, local oysters, fried breaded oysters (we didn’t like them so much), crawfish, stuffed crab, turtle soup (from the bayou, not the sea), gumbo, local fishes… Anyway the local seafood platter is not seen as the luxury food, but is really cool !

We went home late, tired but happy, and tomorrow we’re continuing  !

Bonus : seen on the way tonight !

wp_20171209_074_r

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Nouvelle Orléans – Jour 5 : la météo n’importe plus, on est en excursion !

Aujourd’hui, on s’est réveillés tôt, plein de motivation pour notre première journée excursion dans les bayous de Louisiane !

Quand on était en Equateur, on a rencontré un matin une Américaine, au petit déj de notre auberge. Elle s’appelle Jeannine, a une soixantaine d’années, et vit tout près de la Nouvelle Orléans ! Elle nous a proposé de lui rendre visite si on passait… et c’est ce qu’on a fait ! Alors c’est elle qui nous emmène dans sa Chevrolet visiter des coins qu’on aurait pas atteint en bus…

Comme il a fait un froid de canard hier et cette nuit, et qu’il a même un peu neigé, les Lousianais se sont réveillés avec 4 pouces de neige sur leurs voitures (à la campagne, parce qu’en ville ça n’a pas tenu) (oui, en pouces. faut bien qu’on s’y mette…). Du coup, les ponts étaient fermés, et certaines nationales aussi, c’était le bordel total pour prévoir les itinéraires. On a retrouvé Jeannine une heure plus tard que prévu, parce qu’elle devait traverser le lac Ponchartrain pour venir, et le pont était fermé (un pont de quelques dizaines de kilomètres sur un énorme lac). Une fois lancés, on s’est vite fait bloquer par un gentil State-trooper avec un gros badge parce que les parties ombragées des routes étaient encore verglacées à 10 heures, et il était ravi de nous parler en français d’Acadie (comme il a dit), c’est à dire en créole cajun qui ressemble à du québecois avec un accent du Sud des États-Unis. Super sympa, il nous a donné une adresse pour aller manger en attendant le dégel.

Un peu plus loin, on a visité une boucherie-charcuterie qui fumait sa viande. C’est une entreprise familiale très ancienne, qui n’est du coup que tenue par les normes sanitaires de l’époque de l’ouverture. Du coup, ils peuvent fumer à l’ancienne avec le bois qu’ils veulent, et ça sentait divinement bon, là-dedans ! On a pu gouter le beef-jerky, lanières de viande de bœuf séchées et fumées, qui se mangent comme du chewing-gum et qui ont un gout super fort (très bon, cela dit !). On a pas de photos, et on vous dira pas quel bois ils utilisent pour ne pas éventer leurs secrets ! (il voulait pas nous dire, pour le bois, mais Jeannine bosse dans l’agroforesterie, donc elle a regardé une buche 5 secondes et a deviné… le mec était déconfit).

wp_20171209_13_52_58_pro_r

Après le fumoir, on a avancé un peu le long d’un bayou, une rivière qui sépare un bout de marais d’un autre. Ici, toute les terres ont été un jour le lit du Mississippi, le sol est gorgé d’eau et les zones marécageuses servent de tampon entre l’eau salée du golfe et l’eau douce des terres. On y trouve des alligators (qui hibernent avec ce froid), des grenouilles, des tortues, des poissons, des crustacés… en abondance, voire carrément invasifs, du coup, tout ce qui sort du bayou ou du marécage est bienvenu dans les assiettes !

wp_20171209_11_14_05_pro_r

Vu que le climat est quand même très doux normalement, voire infernal en été, il y a plein d’agrumes partout ! Et vu qu’il a fait froid récemment, les fruits sont supposés être délicieux juste maintenant. Du coup, on s’est arrêtés dans un jardin où un monsieur en peignoir relevait le courrier, et il nous a dit de cueillir des oranges si on voulait. On s’est pas gênés !

wp_20171209_10_07_48_pro_r

Comme le terrain est plat et il y a des lacs partout, il y a aussi des vues dégagés, dont a pu profiter ! A gauche sur la photo, c’est un arbre couvert de mousse espagnole (c’est son nom), et c’est ce machin qui donne aux paysages des bayous leur air énigmatique et lugubre du folklore populaire (ça, et les mythes vaudous ramenés par les haïtiens qui ont émigré il y a longtemps).  Ca s’utilise à la place de la paille dans le torchis des vieilles maisons des plantations de canne à sucre.

Quand les ponts ont été rouverts, on a pu aller jusqu’à Avery Island, maison du Tabasco ! C’est pas vraiment une île, mais plutôt un dôme de sel, créé par un mystère géologique. Il y en a une quinzaine dans les environs, ils sont plus profonds que l’Everest est haut, et ce sont les seuls endroit où le sol est plus haut que le niveau de la mer (bon c’est pas non plus des plateaux, mais en cas d’ouragan et d’inondations catastrophiques, ça aide beaucoup).

wp_20171209_028_r

La famille McHilleny qui y vit et fait le tabasco a créé des expos pour découvrir la fabrication de sauce piquante, mais un des ancêtres avait aussi créé des jardins à l’anglaise qui abritaient pas mal d’espèces animales et végétales. Il a permis de repeupler la région avec les aigrettes qui étaient menacées par l’industrie des plumes de chapeaux, et a relâché par erreur des rongeurs sud-Américains qui sont maintenant une plaie. Les jardins ont été ouverts au public pour favoriser le tourisme automobile, donc ils se visitent en voiture, et ils sont magnifiques !

panobuddha
Il y a même un bouddha très beau, volé en Chine, mais on sait pas quand, découvert à New York et offert aux McHilleny !

En visitant la fabrique, on comprend que cette famille, après les premiers succès de leur sauce, sont entrés dans des cercles d’influences bien pratiques, mais aussi ils avaient pas froid aux yeux, et ils étaient très doués pour le marketing. Parmi eux y’a eu des militaires, des explorateurs, des politiciens, pas beaucoup de femmes avec des positions de pouvoir cela dit, et leur business fleurit depuis de longues années jusqu’à rentrer dans la pop-culture.

Pour résumer le procédé, les piments poussent un peu sur l’île, et beaucoup au Mexique, en Amérique du Sud, ou en Afrique. Quand ils sont ramassés, ils sont broyés avec du sel, mis en tonneaux et envoyés sur Avery Island, où ils restent quelques années dans la cave. Ensuite, on y rajoute du vinaigre et on touille quelques jours, puis on met en bouteille.

Évidemment, les expos nous ont montré à quel point le Tabasco, c’est génial, et à la boutique cadeau on a pu gouter à tout, y compris la glace au Tabasco Jalapeño (vert) et celle au Tabasco Chipotle Framboise (couleur indescriptible, mais c’est super bon en crème glacée).

wp_20171209_042_r

Concernant la bouffe, parce qu’ici c’est une question majeure, entre le midi et le soir, on a gouté des cuisses de grenouilles panées frites, des huitres du coin, des huitres panées frites (pas ouf), des petites langoustes, du crabe farci, de la soupe de tortue (du bayou, pas de la mer !), du gumbo, des poissons locaux… Bref le plateau de fruit de mer, ici, c’est pas toujours le plat de luxe, et c’est grave cool !

On est rentrés tard, fatigués, mais contents, et demain, on remet ça !

Bonus : vu sur le chemin !

wp_20171209_074_r

CatégoriesUSA

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.