New Orleans – Day 7 : houses and ferry

Today we went out to explore the city a bit more. Because the french quarter might be on every postcard, it’s not where most people live, and it’s just a part of the city.

So we found a bus to get to the end of the oldest continuously operated streetcar in the world : the saint Charles streetcar. The cars were renovated after Katrina, but still have the old wooden benches and the old green color. It’s a bit slow, but it goes through some of the most beautiful parts of town. Our first stop was the Audubon park, with its hundreds of live oaks and a lot of wildlife.

Here most squirrel are gray, and mostly considered like tree rats by locals. They eat in the trash, and reproduce way to fast. So most people don’t really notice them anymore, even when they’re 2m away. But for us, it’s not the same, we’re not used to seeing squirrels up close !

After a stroll in the park, we walked nearby and looked at the houses. And so we now understand where the design from the Sims comes from! All were huge, freshly painted and surrounded with a perfect little lawn. Columns, moldings, dormers and of course Christmas decorations were everywhere, varying in color and dimensions, but quite uniform in style.

We also visited a public library, which is located inside the old house of a silent movie star. The building is majestic, and the library very well organized, with cool reading rooms furbished with old furniture and a fireplace.

wp_20171211_047_r

After this, we took the tram again and went to eat a Po-Boy, short for Poor Boy, the official local sandwich, invented for the working class who had to eat while working. Today it’s still cheaper than a restaurant, but probably too expensive for a poor boy… But it’s really good. The bread is really good, it looks like a giant baguette. Inside you can put a multitude of things, like an alligator sausage (Ben liked this a lot !). Afterwards, we had to hurry a bit to get the ferry to Algiers Point, the part of town across the river.

This part of town is much quieter, and we walked a bit around with the sun really low on the horizon. The house are painted in a lot of different colors, and we talked a bit with a man renovating his house. We really liked the place!

Then, we had to find our way back by bus, which brought us to wait under the Crescent Connection. As the bridge is so high, the slope actually starts very early inland. From underneath, it’s pretty impressive, but also not the best place to hang around…

wp_20171211_100_r

Once back in the center, we met with our friend Milan in an Irish pub and had a couple rounds, and then we went to visit City Park, a park in town that is bigger than Central Park in New York ! Each year it hosts a lot of huge Christmas decorations, and they are quite something. But we only saw a few of them, because the park is way to big to see it all in one night!

And then we went to sleep ! See you later, alligator !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Nouvelle Orléans – Jour 7 : maisons et ferries

Aujourd’hui, on est partis explorer mieux la ville. Bah oui, le Quartier Français est sur toutes les cartes postales, mais ça veut pas dire qu’il n’y a que ça, et c’est pas là que les gens vivent.

On a trouvé un bus pour aller à un bout du plus vieux tram en opération continue du monde entier. Le tram St Charles, c’est donc lui, a été retapé après Katrina mais conserve ses bancs en bois et sa carrosserie verte, il est lent, mais il traverse des quartiers magnifiques. Il nous a d’abord déposés au parc Audubon, avec ses centaines de live oaks, et toutes ses bestioles.

C’est marrant parce qu’ici, les écureuils sont gris, et ils sont juste des rats arboricoles dans l’esprit des locaux. Ils font les poubelles et se reproduisent très vite, donc mignons ou pas, ils ne leurs consacrent pas 30 secondes d’attention même quand ils les croisent à 2 mètres… Nous en revanche…

Après le parc, on a marché dans les environs et on a regardé les maisons… Et on a compris d’où venait le design des sims ! Elles étaient toutes grandes, fraichement repeintes et entourées d’une pelouse parfaite. Les colonnes, moulures, chien-assis, et bien sur guirlandes de Noël étaient partout, variant en couleur et en dimensions, mais dans une parfaite uniformité de style.

On a aussi visité une bibliothèque publique installée dans l’ancienne maison d’une star du cinéma muet. La bâtisse est majestueuse, les bouquins super bien organisés, avec des coins lecture dans les salons meublés d’époque, cheminées et tout.

wp_20171211_047_r

Après ça, on a repris le tram et été manger un Po-Boy. Raccourci pour Poor Boy, c’est le sandwich officiel du coin, inventé pour les garçons sans le sou qui devaient manger en travaillant. Aujourd’hui, ça reste moins cher qu’un restau complet mais on peut pas dire que ce soit à la portée des garçons pauvres… Mais c’est bon ! Le secret est dans le pain, qui ressemble à une grosse baguette. Dedans on met ce qu’on veut, comme par exemple une saucisse d’alligator (Ben a bien aimé !). Ensuite, on a un peu couru pour avoir le ferry pour aller voir les maisons d’Algiers Point, le quartier de la ville qui est de l’autre côté du Mississipi !

Plus calme, on a fait le tour du quartier au coucher du soleil, les maisons étaient très colorées et on a discuté un moment avec un monsieur qui retapait la sienne. Ça nous a paru un endroit génial !

Ensuite, on a galéré au niveau des ponts pour trouver un bus qui nous ramène de l’autre côté du fleuve. Comme les bateaux sont énormes, les ponts sont très hauts, et les bretelles pour y monter sont très longues. Ça crée des endroits à l’urbanité discutable, tout près des quartiers plein de vie…

wp_20171211_100_r

De là, on a retrouvé notre pote Milan pour boire un coup avec lui, et on est tous allés à City Park, parc de la ville plus grand que Central Park, qui accueille chaque année des sculpture de lumière d’un gout exquis pour Noël ! Cela dit, c’était assez sympa, mais tellement grand qu’on en a vu que quelques unes.

Après ça, on est allés dormir ! Des bisous, à plus tard !

CatégoriesUSA

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.