Exiting Nicaragua

Today was all about luggage and transports !

We went for a last walk in Léon with our friend Markus, had a fresh fruit juice and enjoyed the heat and the dust <3

Then, we took care of our bags. Since we are cheap bastards, we only bought one checked luggage. Tonight, we are flying low-cost, everything is a paying option, and the price of a luggage is about the same as the flight (so not much, but still). So, we played the luggage.zip game, using hammock-ropes, straps and hooks, to put together our two backpacks, shove all the heaviest stuff in another bag and measure it all !

I guess we did it right, because we have 17,6 kg of checked luggage and were allowed 18, not counting the protection plastic, helping the agents see that this is only ONE bag. We also had to check that the sum of length + width + height is less than 157 cm, because with retard units imperial system, nothing is ever a round number !

In Léon, we took a taxi-bike to the terminal (a guy pedaling on the back of a cart, the whole being covered for shade) and it was really nice and helped see the city in a different light. Then, a van took us to the terminal in Managua in 2 hours with the double-bag on our laps, and then, a regular taxi with a boot took us to the airport. We have been there a few hours, will be there a few more, but we have wi-fi, movies and cookies, and even fried chicken next hall !

We should take off around 2:30 in the morning (9:30 in France) and land in Florida in the morning, for a day of exploration (maybe) before another night plane takes us to New Orleans !

For those who want to follow the flights (because we know there are some) : tonight and tomorrow. Until then, X !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sortie du Nicaragua

Aujourd’hui était dédié aux valises et aux transports !

On a fait un dernier tour dans Léon avec notre ami Markus, pour boire un jus de fruits frais et profiter de la chaleur et de la poussière <3

Ensuite, on s’est attelés à nos sacs. Comme on est des gros radins, on a acheté qu’un seul bagage en soute. Ce soir, on vole low-cost, et tout est payant, et un bagage coute environ le prix du billet (donc pas énorme, mais quand même). Du coup, c’était le grand jeu de bagages.zip, à coup de cordes à hamac, boucles et mousquetons, pour jumeler nos deux sacs de rando, fourrer les choses les plus lourdes dans un petit sac à dos et mesurer le tout !

 

Challenge réussi puisqu’on est à 17,6 kg de bagages en soute pour 18 kg autorisés, sans compter le plastique de protection qui fait croire aux agents que oui, ceci est bien UN bagage 🙂 On a aussi du vérifier que la somme longueur + largeur + hauteur de l’ensemble faisait bien moins d’1,57 m, parce qu’avec les retard units unités impériales ça tombe jamais bien juste !

A Léon, on a pris un vélo-taxi pour aller au terminal (un mec qui pédale derrière une charrette, l’ensemble sous un toit pour faire de l’ombre) et c’était sympa pour voir la ville autrement. Ensuite, un mini-bus nous a emmené jusqu’au terminal de Managua en 2h avec le double-sac sur les genoux, et là, un taxi normal avec un coffre nous a emmenés à l’aéroport. On y est depuis plusieurs heures, ils nous en reste encore quelques unes, mais on a du wi-fi, des films et des cookies, et y’a même du poulet frit à côté !

On devrait décoller à 2h et demie du matin (9h30 en France) et atterrir en Floride demain matin, pour une journée d’exploration (peut-être) avant de reprendre un vol nocturne pour la Nouvelle-Orléans !

Pour ceux qui voudraient suivre les vols (parce qu’on sait qu’il y en a) : ce soir et demain. D’ici là, des bisous !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.