La Fortuna – Day 2 : adrenaline and pools

Today, we went for luxury!

La Fortuna is one of the touristy spots of Costa Rica, so even if our hostel is pretty cheap (at least for now, while it’s low season), most activities here are way over are usual budget. But as we’re just at the base of a volcano, we did want to try one of the local thermal pools. There is just one problem : they are mostly inside luxury hotels, so pretty expensive.

But we discovered a neat trick. Some of those hotels also organize zip-line tours in the canopy near the volcano, which at the end include a free day pass to all their installation. So you can get the canopy tour and thermal baths for just a little more than the thermal baths only entrance fee.

Don’t we look great! :p

So we started the day (by having a big breakfast) by an hour and a half zip lining through the jungle next to the Arenal volcano. It was really cool, some of the zip lines reach 500m long and on some you can get as fast as 60km/h !

Much speed so respect wow !

As we were a small group we even got to do the Tarzan swing. And no, you don’t have to have been raised by monkeys to do it! You won’t get an explanation, but as we’re super nice, we (Alice) edited a short video for you guys 😉 .

At the end of the tour, we did get our bracelet granting us access to the hotel amenities. And it was quite a shock for us, we’re not used to such luxury, but we definitely made the most of it! So first we tested all the 15 thermal pools and 2 swimming pools, ranging from 25 to 38°C, along with the water-slides (up to 65m long!) and hydro-massages. It was really nice and exactly what we needed to relax after the canopy tour.

And this is just part of it!

It was easy to spot the poor tourists that did the canopy tours partly to get free access to the thermal pools and the rich tourists that actually sleep here. Try to guess which ones have the big cool fluffy towels and which ones have the stinking travel towel? 😉

Sorry, we’re not allowed to feed you, and we got to feed ourselves!

Well anyway, we were totally made as cheap tourists at lunch. As the luxury hotels with thermal pools are next to the volcano, they’re a bit far from town, so we couldn’t get back there to eat a casado (literally married man’s lunch, the standard rice-beans-chicken-juice). And the restaurants at the hotels were slightly (but just slightly 😉 ) over our budget. So we ate our bread, ham and liquid yogurt on a bench, near a couple turtles.

Lazier than Ben!

Because yes, not only has the hotel several thermal pools (and a spa, stables for the horses, etc.), it also has a lush garden full a tropical plants, like a jungle, but a very well organized one and some local animals. So we saw turtles, crocodiles (well, sadly they didn’t seem very happy to be in a cage…), butterflies (doesn’t beat Mindo, but still nice), and leaf-cutter ants (no surprise there, we saw them all over since the beginning of our trip!).

Now it’s general knowledge time! There are a lot of leaf cutter ants in Costa Rica, so much that it is estimated they cut between 12 to 17% of the leaf growth in the country annually. But they actually don’t eat the leaf, they use it for their own form of gardening. They bring it underground and use it as fertilizer to grow a special fungus they love to eat!

After this after-lunch stroll in the hotel’s gardens, we tried the thermals again before getting back into town in the late afternoon. In town we managed to book one of our next adventure : a horse ride to our next destination (but I won’t tell you where now 😉 ). We also found gnocchi and thyme, so tonight’s student-style cooking night!

Water-slide to 38°C 🙂

That’s all for today. We hope the sky will clear up tomorrow morning, so we can post a few nice pictures of the volcano. It is the main attraction over here after all!

P.S : another small game for today (an easy one this time) : Can you spot the crocodile?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

La Fortuna – Jour 2 : adrénaline et thermes

Aujourd’hui, on a changé de standing !

La Fortuna, c’est assez touristique comme coin, et même si notre super hostel n’est pas très cher, la plupart des activités dans le coin sont bien au-dessus de notre budget habituel. Mais quitte a être au pied d’un volcan, on ne voulait pas passer 3 jours ici sans aller faire trempette dans un des nombreux bains thermaux du coin. Le problème : ils sont tous chers, car situés dans des hôtels de luxe.

Mais on a découvert qu’en fait, beaucoup de ces hôtels organisent des activités comme des sorties tyroliennes, qui a la fin donne l’accès aux installations comme les bains thermaux pour la journée (et tout ça pour a peine plus que le prix d’accès aux bains seuls).

On a l’air fin, hein 😉

Du coup on a commencé la journée par (un petit dèj, suivi de…) 1h30 de tyrolienne dans la forêt au pied du Volcan Arenal. C’était vraiment cool, avec certaines tyroliennes pouvant atteindre 500m de long et d’autres une vitesse de 60km/h.

La photo sportive du jour !

Vu qu’on était un petit groupe, on a même eu le temps de faire la tarzan swing (non, ce n’est pas Thibaud qui danse sur du Duke Ellington :p ). On vous explique pas, mais vu qu’on est sympa, on (Alice) vous a monté une petite vidéo 🙂 .

A la fin du tour, on a donc eu notre pass (un vieux bracelet en papier, un peu comme pour rentrer en soirée…) pour pouvoir passer la journée dans les installations de l’hôtel. Et ça fait bizarre de se retrouver dans le luxe, mais on en a profité au max ! On a donc commencé par tester les 15 bains thermaux et 2 piscines à différentes températures (de 25 à 38°C) avec parfois des spots hydromassage et des toboggans (de 10 à 65m !). C’était vraiment pas mal et juste ce qu’il fallait après la tyrolienne.

Et encore, ce n’est qu’une partie du truc !

Bon, on voyait clairement les touristes pauvres qui prennent le tour en tyroliennes et viennent squatter l’hôtel après, et les touristes riches qui dorment sur place. Devinez lesquels on les serviettes bien moelleuse et lesquels on les serviettes Quechua ?

Non désolé, le pain jambon c’est pour nous !

De toute façon, on était aussi assez repérable à midi. Puisque les hôtels grand luxe sont en dehors de la ville, plus proche des flancs du volcan, on était un peu loin pour rentrer en ville manger un casado (littéralement repas de l’homme marié, le standard riz-haricots-poulet-jus), et les restaus sur place sont un peu chers. Du coup nous on a mangé pain jambon  et yaourt à boire sur un banc, juste en face de quelques tortues.

Vautré tel un Ben sur un canap !

Parce oui, les installations de l’hôtel ce n’est pas seulement des bains thermaux et un spa (et une écurie pour les chevaux, et etc.), mais aussi un superbe jardin avec pleins de plantes du coin, façon jungle, mais très bien entretenu, avec des petits enclos à animaux locaux. On a donc vu des tortues, des crocodiles (malheureusement un peu à l’étroit dans leur enclos…), des papillons (ça vaut pas Mindo, mais c’est sympa), et des fourmis coupeuses de feuilles (que l’on a vu dans quasiment toute les forêts depuis l’Ecuador).

Alors pour la minute culture-gé, ces fourmis sont très présentes au Costa Rica, puisqu’on estime qu’elle coupent entre 12 à 17% des nouvelles feuilles du pays chaque année. Mais en fait ce sont des fourmis jardinières, elles ne mangent pas les feuilles mais les amènent sous terre et s’en servent comme engrais pour nourrir un champignon dont elles raffolent !

Après la petite balade digestive dans les jardins de l’hôtel, on est repartis faire trempette et se faire masser avant de se faire ramener en ville en fin d’après-midi. Comme on avait encore le temps, on a été se réserver une balade en cheval qui constituera une partie de notre trajet vers notre prochaine destination (mais chut, vous verrez ça bientôt), et on a trouvé des gnocchis (le graal !) qu’on va se faire griller à la poêle ce soir 🙂 .

Chaud devant !

Voilà, c’est tout pour aujourd’hui. On espère qu’il fera moins couvert demain pour qu’on puisse vous mettre des belles photos du volcan, c’est censé être l’attraction principale après tout !

P.S : encore un petit jeu aujourd’hui (mode facile). Saura tu retrouver le crocodile ?

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.