Guatapé – Day 2 : interlude

Turns out we didn’t go to a farm today.

In the end, it was more convenient for them if we arrived tomorrow in the middle of the day than tonight, so we had a nice break in this pretty town. We bought some items for when we are there, like a big water canteen and marmalade, because the closest town will be an hour walk from there, and they won’t provide us with everything. After all, this is not summer camp.

wp_20171004_15_49_09_rich_r
The Rock !

We took advantage of this to visit more Guatapé (understand : walk a bit between our hostel and the different places where we ate). This town is known for its colorfully painted house, and especially their cement bas-relief, also painted. More often than not, there is a theme in relation to the house : a worker with his tools on a workshop or music instruments on a house where piano lessons can be heard… Sometimes it is beautiful, sometimes corny, and some other times, disturbingly detailed…

We also used the time to get rid of a lot of stuff to do : housing tax, and above all accounting. We went back till august, cause it was a mess, and for the trip, we have this huge Excel file of the death to control our expenses by categories, date, country… It also allows us to check if we don’t just lose money, because colombian pesos are counted by the thousand (on the shops, the stores have a price in dollars, which are actually one thousand of pesos and don’t add up to a dollar at all). This means that lately, we are millionaires (but not at a given time, since ATM are limited to 600 000 pesos anyway) and so we can afford candlelit pizza night !

wp_20171004_19_51_56_rich

In the “funny things” category, we witness several nice examples of vehicles today : we already mentioned the mototaxis, sort of 3-wheeled tuk-tuk who have a roof and a bad time going uphill. During our dinner, we saw several of them with colored neon of blinking lights, and since they were delivering pizzas for their friends, we understood why Deliveroo was doomed to fail in rural Colombia. Finally, the local police was probably going to a party (we don’t have a picture, sorry), the two of them on a single scooter, leaning backwards, speeding downhill. With the kaki uniform and the neon green armbands, they were hardly plausible and looked more like a costume-party gone bad…

Tomorrow, we have a bus in the morning for Tierra Dulce, a small farm near Alejandria, where we will stay for a few days. We think we will have the internet there, but just in case, no one panics, we will spend half our time in coffee fields, and the other in hammocks ! XO

2 Replies to “Guatapé – Day 2 : interlude”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Guatapé – Jour 2 : intermède

Aujourd’hui, on est pas allés dans une ferme.

Finalement, ça les arrangeait plus qu’on arrive demain, de jour, qu’aujourd’hui de nuit, et comme ça, on a fait une bonne pause dans ce joli petit village. On a fait des courses pour là-bas, comme un gros bidon d’eau minérale ou de la confiture, parce qu’on sera à 1h de marche du village et qu’ils vont pas tout nous fournir, c’est pas non plus la colonie de vacances.

wp_20171004_15_49_09_rich_r
The Rock !

On en a profité pour visiter mieux (comprendre : faire des petites balades entre l’auberge et les différents lieux où on a mangé). Ce village est connu pour ses maisons peintes et surtout décorées par des bas-reliefs en ciment, peints eux-aussi. Souvent, on retrouve un thème propre à la maison : un artisan et ses outils sur un atelier, des instruments de musique sur une maison d’où on entend des leçons de piano… Parfois c’est beau, parfois c’est kitsch, et parfois c’est curieusement détaillé…

On en a aussi profité pour régler plein de trucs nuls mais qu’il faut faire parfois : la taxe d’habitation, et surtout les comptes. On est remontés jusqu’au mois d’août, parce que c’était le bazar, et pour le voyage, on a un espèce de fichier Excel de la mort pour contrôler nos dépenses par catégories, par date, par pays… Ça nous permet aussi de vérifier qu’on perd pas de l’argent parce que les pesos colombien, ça se compte par millier (sur les magasins, les prix sont affichés en dollars, en fait ça veut dire millier de pesos, et ça vaut même pas un dollar). Du coup ces temps-ci, on est millionnaires (mais pas en simultané, parce que les distributeurs sont limités à 600 000 de toute façon) et donc on se paie des soirées pizza aux chandelles !

wp_20171004_19_51_56_rich

Dans la catégorie rigolo, on a eu quelques beaux exemples de véhicules : on vous a déjà parlé des mototaxis, espèce de tuk-tuk à 3 roues abrité qui galère dans les côtes. Pendant notre repas en terrasse, on a pu en apercevoir plusieurs tunés, avec des néons multicolores et des lumières clignotantes. On a aussi constaté l’échec commercial de Deliveroo en Colombie rurale : les mototaxis livrent les pizzas de leurs potes. Enfin, la police locale se rend en soirée (on a pas de photo, désolée, ça le faisait pas) à 2 sur un scooter, vautrés en arrière, à toute vitesse en descente. C’était pas très crédible avec l’uniforme kaki et les brassards verts fluos, ça faisait plutôt soirée déguisée qui dégénère…

Demain matin, on prend le bus pour Tierra Dulce, une petite ferme du côté d’Alejandria, où on restera quelques jours. On pense qu’on aura internet mais au cas où, personne ne s’affole, on sera dans les champs de café la moitié du temps, dans les hamacs l’autre moitié ! Plein de bisous !

2 réponses sur “Guatapé – Jour 2 : intermède”

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.