Granada – Day 2 : tons of adventures

Today, we went touring !

We got up early thinking of booking last-minute a boat ride to monkey-island. Since Granada is the first tourism destination in Nicaragua, you can find tour operators anywhere in town, and since Nicaragua (or its Pacific side, denser in population, volcanoes and roads anyway) is not that big, you can go anywhere in a day-trip. This way, for a short trip, you can book in the morning, and the later you arrive, the more inexpensive it is (and the less choice you have).

We found an office on the main street (that we call gringo-street among ourselves), and the guy wanted to fill his boat for an island-tour. Since he already 5-6 people, he was sure to go, but since he also has 20 seats in the boat, he wanted a few more, but they would have been a “bonus”, so the prices were nice (yeah, we are counting a lot, the prices are almost costa-rican here but it’s also less organized, so we are paying a lot of attention).

Being (very) lucky, we directly booked the island-trip and the volcano-trip in the evening, and we almost had 2 hours to walk around town before the boat left. Granada is very pretty and cared for. Gringo-street is completely reserved for pedestrians (and street vendors : jewelry, hammocks, paintings…), the central park is very nice, shaded in the day, lighted at night… Most buildings have been restored or maintained, and we also went up the bell-tower of one the churches to have a view of the city and its surroundings.

When we got back down, we bought some food for a picnic and joined the group for the boat ride. Granada Islands (called isletas, i.e. mini-islands) are a bunch of little rocks around a peninsula, resulting from a lava flow a few thousand years ago. The earth is so fertile that in the lake, it took the form of a wetland archipelago rich with life-forms. There are many bird species, birds of prey but also herons and egrets, a few monkeys in half-captivity on small islands (some were brought by a veterinarian to save them) and of course various fishes.

The boat then took us to a restaurant-island, and we had a drink. Since are a still a bit scratched (but it’s getting better fast), we didn’t swim, but it was the perfect time for a watercolor-painting.

wp_20171119_034_r

wp_20171120_10_44_27_pro_r

We went back and ate our picnic, after which we went for a nap, before going to the volcano. Masaya (that’s its name) is the most active in the country, the last eruption was last December, and was mostly lots of gases being pushed into the atmosphere and a few lava sprays that made the crater broader (so now the fumes are better distributed and the view is better). It’s still growling, sometimes shaking a bit, if it’s showing signs of getting angry, the area will be evacuated (2-3 small towns) but it’s not an explosive hazard at all.

At night,the lava at the bottom of the crater is very visible, and so the tourists cars are waiting in line to take pictures in groups of 20. No more than 20, so if Masaya gets angry, less people will die (no, because they can go away faster, of course, there is a seismic early-warning system, it’s not their first rodeo !). As good tourists, we took pictures (and even a selfie, it had been a long time since the last one).

Then we got back to town, it was late and the day has been long. We shared a pizza and fell into bed !

See you tomorrow, X

One Reply to “Granada – Day 2 : tons of adventures”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Granada – Jour 2 : plein d’aventures

Aujourd’hui, on a visité !

On s’est levés tôt en pensant réserver à l’arrache une balade en bateau pour l’île aux singes. Comme Granada est la première destination touristique du Nicaragua, il y a des tour operators partout, et comme le Nicaragua n’est pas très grand (pour le côté Pacifique qui est plus dense en population, volcans, routes…), on peut aller partout « pour la journée ». Du coup, les réservations se font le matin, et plus on arrive au dernier moment, moins c’est cher (et moins c’est garanti).

On a trouvé sur la grand rue (on l’appelle Gringo-street entre nous) un bureau avec un mec qui voulait finir de remplir son bateau pour un tour des iles. A partir du moment où il a 5-6 personnes, il est sur de partir, et il a environ 20 places, mais pour les retardataires, comme c’est que du benef pour lui, il fait des bons tarifs (oui, on compte beaucoup, ici on a presque des prix costa-ricains mais c’est un peu moins organisé donc on fait attention).

Comme on est (très) bien tombés, on lui a réservé d’un coup le tour dans les îles et la sortie au volcan ce soir. Et comme on avait presque deux heures devant nous avant le départ en bateau, on a fait le tour de la ville. Granada, c’est très joli, et très bien entretenu. Gringo-street est entièrement réservée aux piétons (et aux vendeurs de rue : bijoux, hamacs, peintures…), le parc central est très joli, ombragé le jour et éclairé la nuit… La plupart des bâtiments sont restaurés et on a aussi pu monter au clocher d’une des églises pour avoir une belle vue sur la ville et les environs.

Quand on est redescendus, on a acheté de quoi grignoter pour le midi, et on a rejoint le groupe pour le tour en bateau. Les iles de Granada (appelées isletas, soit ilettes) sont une floppée de petits rochers autour d’une péninsule, résultats d’une coulée de lave il y a quelques milliers d’années. Comme c’est un terreau fertile dans un lac, ça a pris une forme d’archipel marécageux riche en formes de vies variées. Il y a donc pas mal d’oiseaux, des rapaces mais aussi des hérons et aigrettes, quelques singes en semi-captivité sur des bouts d’iles (quelques uns ont été installés là par un vétérinaire pour les sauver), et bien sur des poissons variés.

Ensuite, le bateau nous a emmené sur une ile-restau, et on a bu un coup. Comme on a encore quelques égratignures (mais ça s’améliore bien), on s’est pas baignés, mais c’était le moment pour une aquarelle.

wp_20171119_034_r

wp_20171120_10_44_27_pro_r

En revenant, on a cassé la croute sous un arbre et on est rentrés faire la sieste, avant de partir pour le volcan. Masaya (c’est son nom) est le plus actif du pays, la dernière éruption date de décembre dernier, et ça consistait globalement en une grande quantité de gaz expulsés d’un coup et quelques gerbes de lave qui ont élargi le cratère (du coup maintenant la fumée se répartit mieux et on voit mieux). Il gronde un peu, tremble parfois, si il fait mine de s’énerver, on évacue les 2-3 villes alentours (les petites) mais il ne représente pas de danger explosif.

Par contre, la nuit, on voit bien la lave au fond du cratère, du coup les voitures font la queue pour être admises au bord, par groupe de 20, pour permettre aux touristes de prendre des photos. Pas plus de 20, comme ça si ça pétarade, on tue moins de gens (non, parce que c’est plus facile d’évacuer vite, bien sur, il y a un système d’alerte sismique et tout, c’est pas leur premier rodéo !). Du coup, en bons touristes, on a pris des photos (et même un selfie, ça faisait longtemps)

Ensuite, on est rentrés en ville, il était tard, et c’était quand même une longue journée, donc on a partagé une pizza et on s’est effondrés !

A demain, des bisous !

Une pensée sur “Granada – Jour 2 : plein d’aventures”

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.